Sponsored by:

Lets Talk The 6.6 Brazilian.... Tech and Performance

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2014, 02:52 PM
RacinNdrummin
Postmaster
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Lets Talk The 6.6 Brazilian.... Tech and Performance

I know Neverenufhp has a webpage with some info and posts all over these forums, but im interested in getting down to bare bones on info for these engines.

What I have read is that they came with Bosch A-series and MW series injection pumps, though every picture I have seen of this engine, it has had a Bosch P series pump. It has been said that the P-pump came on the 93 only, but even the older engines have P series pumps on them.

Right now (I wont post a link for date purposes) There is a pump from an 86 N/A 6.6 on EBay (E6HN9A543DB) with the numbers "PES6P110A720RS3194". That is a Bosch P3000 pump with 11mm plungers.

That being said, I have some experience with Bosch A-series pumps, and they look nothing like the pumps on the 6.6/7.8, Same with the MW.

Is there anybody that can confirm the Part number on their 6.6? Its right on the side of the pump.

I think the 6.6 could be a great platform for a performance engine, especially with a P-series pump. The P3000-11mm pumps are good for like 370cc stock, and 13mm plungers are an easy upgrade for up to 800cc's.

The engines have 6 head bolts per cylinder, and they are 9/16" from the factory... Toss some ARP's in, and Im willing to bet these would hold a ton of boost.

From what I have seen, their parts are stout as hell, and it has a removable intake manifold. I think with the proper adapter plate for an IDI/PSD transmission, and some motor mounts, these would come pretty close to dropping in an F250/350...

Does anybody have any specs to contribute that might help shed some light? Any negative experiences?

Old 07-23-2014, 04:41 PM
tjc transport
i ain't rite
Received 3,160 Likes on 2,204 Posts
i prefer the 7.8 over the 6.6.
in my opinion it is a much better engine.

Old 07-23-2014, 09:21 PM