Sponsored by: DP Tuner

6637 S&B Intake 1st impressions

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2014, 11:33 AM
HKusp
Lead Driver
Received 26 Likes on 20 Posts
6637 S&B Intake 1st impressions

I have been running the 6637 since the summer of 2007 and I just installed the S&B intake with the re-usable filter element a few days ago. After putting about 100-150 miles of mixed driving on the truck since then, I wanted to share my initial impressions so far.

The intake is of pretty good quality over all, although I was a little disappointed in a few things.

First, the fit of the snorkel piece to the box. There is a bit of a gap. It's not a big deal, because it is before the filter and in theory- who cares if some air is leaking into the filter box as long as it gets filtered before entering the turbo?

Second, again is a fitment issue- The clear cover, the holes don't line up perfectly and where the cover fits into the recess on the top of the element box, there is a pretty big gap on the lower left if you are facing the front of the truck. You can see it in the picture where it is all together. Not a big deal, but again, it's not an inexpensive piece, and it doesn't seem to be cheaply made, but I would think that they could have a little better quality control on this type of thing.