Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking to buy a 1992 gas Ford F350

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2014, 08:02 AM
SamiJo493
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Looking to buy a 1992 gas Ford F350

Hey everyone,
I'm new to buying trucks as I am 18, so I'm looking for some helpful advice... I'm looking at buying a 1992 ford f350. Its gas, 4door, long bed, with a camper shell. It has 148,000 miles on it already. I'd have to fix the mastercylinder, altenator, and possibly the shocks. It runs great, not funky noises etc... is this a wise decision? Are there any crazy problems in these trucks?
Thank you in advance!

Old 03-17-2014, 08:13 AM
cjben
Lead Driver

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
sounds like a decent truck if the price is right. Be forewarned you are going to be spending a lot of money on gas if you drive it any decent amount of miles.

Old 03-17-2014, 08:18 AM
mechanic58
Tuned
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
There are not any 'normal' 18yo boys on this planet that can afford to drive this truck. It's going to get about 7mpg - and that's if you're driving it extended distances. If you're just planning to drive this around town - back and forth to school, etc - you better get ready to spend $100+ a week on gas.

Old 03-17-2014, 10:14 AM
joey2fords
Fleet Mechanic
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
it will gobble up the gas, so you should ask yourself if you really need a truck this big. what will you be using it for ?

this generation of f series had a few little idiosyncracies, but nothing crazy. check the leaf spring hangers for rust

Old 03-17-2014, 06:46 PM
wr310rdr
Senior User