460 EFI conversion kit?

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2014, 03:50 PM
RickF350
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
460 EFI conversion kit?

Hey all,
Soon as the weather warms up I'll be the new owner of my dad's 1979 F350 regular cab with a 460. I just started my research and came across this.- Ford 460 efi complete conversion kit So what are your thoughts on the kit? Do you think his MPG claims are true?
I'm new to the 460, so try not to flame me too much.
Thanks
Rick

Old 02-03-2014, 04:26 PM
HIO Silver
Post Fiend
Received 58 Likes on 48 Posts
I'm not averse to work but to me retrofitting a factory EFI system is simply a pain in the azz.

Plus at that cost there are better options, better value and significantly less of a headache include the MSD Atomic, FAST Ez-EFI 2.0, or Edelbrock's E-Street.

Mileage claims? A 2 to 3 mpg improvement over a carb would be plausible.

Old 02-03-2014, 05:15 PM
JP3
More Turbo
Received 17 Likes on 10 Posts
I have been researching this swap as well and saw that CL ad a while back. Looks to be a fairly complete kit and the guy seems to know what he is talking about. $1900 almost seems like a decent deal for all the stuff you get in that kit, but you could probably piece it together for less if you wanted to pinch every penny. He might be willing to sell key parts, like the stripped down ECM, separate as well.

There is no need to swap to the EFI style heads. It is well documented on BBF sites that the EFI intake will fit the stock 460 heads fine. It WILL NOT fit CJ or SCJ size port heads though.

Aftermarket efi is ok, but if you want minimal hassle, bolt-on and go efi, the factory stuff is the way to go. If you don't mind tinkering and have the time to fiddle and learn, by all means buy aftermarket and dive in.

I have done both (Ranger 5.0L swap - stock ECM and later a 545" BBF - Megasquirt ECM) and the 5.0L was a snap. In fact, I wish I still had that truck because it was a ball to drive.