Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

Bad news for my IDI..

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2013, 06:21 AM
FordManMT
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bad news for my IDI..

I know it's not just me who feels this way. But my truck has become part of who I am. It's not just a truck, it's part of me. People who I don't even know know me from what I drive. I am by no means an artist, but my truck is a work of art in its own right.

To whomever have seen the dyno sheets or the videos alot of you know that for a factory turboed IDI not running an innercooler and having well over 200k miles to be pushing out over 215hp and 429ft-lbs of
Torque is still pretty impressive.

But unfortunately a series of events has taken place and the heart of gold inside my truck has started showing signs of serious wear.

I noticed oil leaking out of my stacks about a month ago, but now it seems everything decided to fail at once. The trucks burning a massive amount of coolant, I'm not sure if its cavitation related or if it's a head gasket. There's no coolant in the oil or vise versa. The teuck is running 100-200 degrees hotter at all times now for no apparent reason.But something's not right.

The clutch and dual mass fly wheel are nothing more but a failing connection between a dieing engine and the ground.

Anyways long sob story short the engines on a severe decline. This leaves 3 options.

1:Replace it with a re-man.
2:use my other 6.9L blocks and parts from the current engine to build a new and improved one
3:engine conversion.

Honestly after looking at the prices for machine work, custom pumps ect I could swap in a cummins or Somthing else for far cheaper than building a "performance IDI"

I'm really playing with the idea of finding an building a DT466 with a P7100 pump. I wouldn't mind the fab work that comes with that. Because I know it's a fairly rare swap. But from what I have seen they are extremely successful.