1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Recent Break-in, Doors Were Locked

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2013, 06:40 PM
travis771
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Recent Break-in, Doors Were Locked

Hey Everyone, last night my 2013 F-250 was broken into in front of my house. I am 100% sure the doors were locked, no doubt about it, they were locked.

I'm new to ford trucks and since day 1 I didn't trust or like the keypad on the outside of the door. I know it's handy and some day when I lock my keys in the truck I'll be glad I have it, but after learning the factory set code cannot be changed I thought, man that's BS. I mean that's like a gun safe company selling you a safe and saying you can't change the combo, or a home alarm company telling you the code and not letting you change it.

So since there was no forced entry I've got to assume that the thief either used a master code of some sorts on the keypad, or scanned my key fob code somewhere/somehow and used an electronic tool to unlock the truck, or by some other unknown means simply defeated the door locks without setting off the alarm.

There were no scratch marks on the windows indicating a slim-jim was used to pop the locks. The door key hole was untouched, and the window seals were all in place and untouched. And the truck was locked this morning when I went outside to get in it. That's when I noticed my trash bag kept in the console was sitting on the seat and I immediately knew it had been broken into overnight and looked to see that the pistol was gone.

Is there a possibility that someone at my purchasing dealership (I just bout this truck 2 weeks ago) had access to the door keypad code and paid me a visit to steal the pistol? Or does Ford have some sort of secret universal code that's someone could have used.