Sponsored by: DP Tuner

"Manning" Up... Tuner vs. Injector Smackdown

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2012, 09:57 AM
Tugly
Hotshot
Received 111 Likes on 66 Posts
"Manning" Up... Tuner vs. Injector Smackdown

Here it is; a working theory on tuning woes when swapping stale sticks for the economical equine enhancers... remanufactured injectors. For those unfamiliar with me, I am not an expert, a diesel mechanic, or a long-term diesel owner. I ask a lot of questions, do my mods, and measure the results to the level that "****" doesn't cover.

New injectors have a crisper response to the High Pressure Oil than used ones do, hence... we replace the old ones. When we choose to save a few bucks and go reman, each rebuilder has their own procedure and policy for the level of the rebuild and just as important - the level of bench-testing.

Let's say a rebuilder automatically replaces all internals, but that doesn't mean the core they put the internals in is up to snuff... so the rebuilder bench-tests the injector, while monitoring flow. After the bench-test, a good rebuilder will match up a set of 8 injectors with near-identical flow and record that data for future reference.