Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

EFI to carb conversion

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2012, 02:23 PM
jakojohnston
8th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
EFI to carb conversion

I have a 93 f150 that currently has a fuel injected 302. I put 1,500 internaly into this engine and have been fighting electrical problems since that time. i have replaced multiple sensors and performed multiple electrical tests I am a former technician and am currently a heavy duty diesl tech so im not overly stupid but i only worked on gas for a short time so all this EFI and electronic ignition crap is to some extent beyond me. I am now in dire straights witht his truck and have found multiple wires broken, tied off, missing, burned, etc... also multiple vaccum lines broken, missing, etc.

what I want to do seeing as I now have a hole burnt in a piston and two broken vavle stems is to start from scratch with a new long block assembly and work from there up. I DO NOT WANT TO GO BACK TO EFI. but i have a few questions. i have found the basics like the long block, intake, carb, etc... now my big question is how will i hook up the vaccum advanc on the new carb, what should I do about fuel delivery?, what will I do about gauges? can the stock gauges be used or will i need to install custom gauges? any other advise will be gratly appreciated thanks all!!

Old 01-22-2012, 04:42 PM
Edgethis
Lead Driver
Received 388 Likes on 293 Posts
Well most of the stock gauges run off of sensors that also go thru the ECU. Going carb will mean you will essentially need to redo all of that. You didn't mention trans but if its auto you would need a separate trans controller (~$500) It sounds like you are better off selling this truck and starting with a different truck.

You could always do a diesel swap...you mentioned you are a HD diesel tech.....