1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Service Engine Light on a 99 7.3; shuddering in higher gear?

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2011, 11:17 AM
steeleford
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Service Engine Light on a 99 7.3; shuddering in higher gear?

Hi there,

I am new to being registered on these boards but I read and refer to them all the time and know them to be a wealth of knowledge!

We've had many Fords over the years but the one that has me posting today is our 99 F350 7.3L truck. We've only had it about six months and it's running pretty well. We use it to pull a heavy load-steel horse trailer and several horses, nearly every weekend in the mountains. It's an automatic transmission (which may not have been the best choice but here it is).

I usually drive it without the trailer on-my husband usually drives when it's loaded.

On the way home from the last loaded trip the "Service Engine Soon" light came on when we started the truck. After a few miles it went off and we made the mental note to get it checked. Yesterday I went to drive to town and it started up just fine, as usual, and the SES light came on. When I got up to about 45 MPH on the road the truck shifted up a gear and immediately started shuddering. I slowed, it dropped a gear, and stopped shuddering. Turned around to take it back home as I didn't have an appt with a mechanic that day and it did the same thing again when I got up to speed. I dropped the speed again and brought it the rest of the way home in low gear.

Obviously it really needs to go to the mechanic but I wanted to pick your brains first.