Sponsored by:

Seat Belt Buckle doesn't click/latch easily

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2011, 08:31 AM
ivory-tower
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Seat Belt Buckle doesn't click/latch easily

Just bought a 2005 Excursion (6l PSD, 143k on it). The driver's side seat belt buckle takes a mighty big push before it latches. If I just stick the seat belt in, it doesn't latch, I have to really jam it. Even then it doesn't "click" so much as just quietly latches. Passenger buckle works fine (clicks and latches easily).

Am I going to have to replace the whole buckle assembly? If so, would this interchange with an F250 (or F350) of the same year? I think the buckle changed between 2004 and 2005.

If I find one, will if be a difficult replacement procedure? I gather there's a wire running from it to light the seat belt lamp, anything else?

Thanks in advance... Newbie here, be gentle...

Old 08-18-2011, 09:26 AM
BassFantasizer
Hotshot
Received 4,680 Likes on 2,607 Posts
Hi IvoryTower (abbreviated to IT?)

Welcome to the forums. It's a good group that is always eager to have more participation. Feel free to post often.

Regarding the buckle, they seldom wear out. Check to make sure that nothing is hung up in it. A piece of a rag, animal hair, fabric softener sheets, etc. All kinds of weird objects can get to unimaginable places. Just explore the slot with an ice pick, wire, or narrow screw driver.

If there's nothing jammed in there, replace it. I'm a bit of a purist so I'd want one from another Excursion, but that's certainly not a requirement. Wrecked Excursions get parted out just like everything else.

Again, welcome to the forums!

Old 08-18-2011, 09:35 AM
ivory-tower
New User