Holley Carb - 1850(4160) Flooding...

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2011, 10:15 AM
North42g
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Holley Carb - 1850(4160) Flooding...

Hello,
I am the owner of a 1969 Ford Bronco with a 1972 302 V8.
Sitting on top is a Offenhauser Intake & a Holley 4 barrel[List:1850-4(4160)]
The truck hasn't run in over twelve years. Until the other day.
I gave it a full tune-up. I replaced most of the Ignition system[ IG Coil, Plugs, Wires, Points, etc...]
I also replaced the Regulator, Battery, Starter &7 almost all Electrical lines/Wires inbetween.

Anyways, when it came time for the Carburator; It started & ran with a very high idle and was leaking fuel from 3 or 4 places...alot of fuel.
So I decided to rebuild it.
I went to the local Holley Guy and got the proper kit.
Rebuilt it and followed the instructions to a "Tee".
(I have a background in Automotive Repair - I'm a technician by trade; but the newer stuff is what I know...EFI, MPFI, SPFI, etc..Carburation is relatively new to me, I had never rebuilt a carb untill the other day.)

The Carb is a Holley 4 barrel List: 1850-4(4160) manual choke.
It keeps flooding out and stalling out the motor.
I tried various adjustments and was talking to a few guys on the 1966-1977 FTE Early Bronco Forums- After we did all we could I was recomended to this forum.

So I cant get her to run initially. It instantly floods out. But after she dries out a bit, I can get her running. But as soon as I dunk the fuel lines into the one gallon gas tank(I made a make shift fuel cell to get the engine running- after sitting for twelve - fifteen years it'll probably need a total ground up overhaul.)
Seems like it gets way to much fuel as soon As I dunk the line into the tank.

So what should I try? I have all ready tried turning in the Idle adjustment needles. I turned them in all the way and then out 1 & 1/2 turns on both sides.