Views: 17036
Size:  62.1 KB

Name:  0611011432a-1.jpg
Views: 16579
Size:  67.1 KB

Name:  0605011742a.jpg
Views: 19037
Size:  77.7 KB

many more photos to be uploaded. i am not an expert but i made lots of observations and took many pictures along the way

Old 06-29-2011, 08:12 PM
fordbroncodave
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Old 06-29-2011, 08:18 PM
fordbroncodave
Senior User
Old 07-03-2011, 01:03 PM
Edgethis
Lead Driver
Received 379 Likes on 285 Posts
Awesome swap man! I wish I had a 4wd manual laying around. i'd love to have a stick shift in my Bronco.

So You swapped the transmission, the cross-member with mount and the starter? What else was required?

Old 07-03-2011, 01:54 PM
greystreak92
Post Fiend
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
I do. I'm halfway across the country but I've got two M5's sitting here. Both are 4WD. One needs shift fork assembly. I'm running a ZF and have no use for them.

Nice pictorial there, Dave. Anyone wanting to do a ZF S5-42 swap... have a look at this as well because physically, the ZF and M5 are identical for mountings and hardware.

Old 07-04-2011, 07:14 PM
fordbroncodave
Senior User
a list of the required pieces when switching from AOD to 5 speed mazda or ZF equivalent:

transmission (obviously)
cross member
cross member gussets or upper rail supports
starter
link bar for manual shift T case to transmission shift mechanism
pedal assembly
master cylinder
slave cylinder
hydraulic line
transmission mount (i am willing to bet they both fit and bolt the same. very minor differences light height)
and most importantly the driveshafts.

the driveshafts are the most important part and i overlooked them. i thought i would be able to use the ones from the AOD for the 5 speed but i was SOL and there was little i could do about it. front shaft from an f150 was perfect but the rear shaft needed a good 2 inches removed from the AOD shaft so i bartered and got mine resized.