Garage & Workshop Tips & Ideas for the garage or workshop. No Truck Tech Discussion   

What's a good torque wrench?

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2011, 04:09 PM
bri687
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What's a good torque wrench?

I'm looking for a reliable torque wrench to correctly rotate my own tires. What does everyone recommend for brand names to go with? Is there anything else to know because I'm a noob and this will be my first one?

Old 02-03-2011, 06:38 PM
Ford_Six
Hotshot
Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
Craftsman is good, my Harbor Freight ones does fine though. Don't loosen the lugnuts with it even though it is a nice long handle, and make sure to loosen the adjustment all the way after every use. If you don't, it'll take a set and click at a much lower torque than indicated.

Old 02-03-2011, 07:33 PM
bri687
Senior User
One more question should I go with an click type or electronic torque wrench?

Old 02-03-2011, 11:33 PM
fixnair
Posting Guru
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Most accurate wrench is the bending beam. It never needs calibrating. Also works either direction. Only thing about it is it's hard to read at higher torque readings because you are probably under some sort of contorted stress and trying to see the dial can be tough. It is also the cheapest of the lot.

Old 02-04-2011, 08:17 AM
Ford_Six
Hotshot
Click type works well. I'm not sure I trust the electronic ones just yet.

Old 02-04-2011, 04:50 PM
gfw1985
Cranky Old Guy
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
If all you are going to use it for is lug nuts anything more than a beam style is a waste of money. As far as electric, I sold mine. Just another thing with batteries to be dead when you need it.

Old 02-04-2011, 11:38 PM
Chaosracing
Posting Guru