6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Alt ??

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2010, 04:57 PM
ramsay
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Alt ??

Ive got 6.0 w a dying alternator. Ive also got a dead 99 windstar with a freshly rebuilt 130 amp large case altenator. Its putting out 14.2 V in the van.
Here is my question. It will bolt on and plug in to the 6.0 with no modification but won't charge at all. Any ideas as to why?

Edit: Will a regulator for 6.0 fit the alternator out of the Windstar?

Old 12-05-2010, 07:15 PM
bismic
Fleet Owner
Received 2,494 Likes on 1,731 Posts
I believe that the 6.0L single alternator is expecting a signal from the "I" circuit to begin output.

Old 12-05-2010, 07:39 PM
hubler13f
Elder User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Sorry, I have no knowledge in that area to help you out, but what is going on with our alternators this is the fifth or sixth bad alternator I have seen on here in a week and a half to include mine.

Old 12-05-2010, 07:40 PM
ramsay
Senior User
How do I solve this "I" circuit issue? How do I trigger the non-diesel alternator to kick and and start charging? What are the differences between the two alternators? Are the regulators different?

Old 12-05-2010, 10:40 PM
John Irwin
Elder User

Originally Posted by hubler13f
Sorry, I have no knowledge in that area to help you out, but what is going on with our alternators this is the fifth or sixth bad alternator I have seen on here in a week and a half to include mine.