2017+ Super Duty The 2017+ Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty Pickup and Chassis Cab

Am I Crazy?

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2024, 06:28 PM
Old_Soul
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Am I Crazy?

So a little background on me. I am a professional in my late 40's. Have a grown child (not in the house), a long-term girlfriend, and a dog. I am tired of the corporate crap. Fortunately I do have a job that is supposed to be "fully remote". I would like to try to take advantage of that. Currently I am driving a Lexus RX 350, so I am considering the Platinum trim to try to stay somewhat close to the "creature comforts" the RX has. Prior to the RX I had a 5-series BMW.

I have been considering getting a fifth wheel, outfitting it with a mobile office and starlink (or something like it) and hitting the road for extended periods, like months at a time. I have never owned a diesel-powered vehicle before, but am pretty handy with tools and don't mind learning. Is wanting to get an F-450 Platinum a crazy idea? There doesn't seem to be a lot of difference in price at the Platinum trim level between a 250 and a 450, so why not go for the truck that has bigger brakes and tighter turning radius. I understand the negatives of the rougher suspension and the 19.5 inch wheels. I would likely opt for the standard output engine instead of the HO.

I greatly appreciate your thoughts and opinions on this matter.

OS

Old 03-25-2024, 06:36 PM
Fordtimes1
7th Gear
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
I have a Platinum 350 CCSB SRW with the diesel. I think you have a great idea and plan on a similar thing in the very near future myself. I love the truck and it pulls like a mule. Ride is a bit rough, but better when hooked to some weight.

The following users liked this post:
Old 03-25-2024, 06:38 PM
Ltngdrvr
Lead Driver
Received 3,351 Likes on 1,771 Posts
Crazy?
ABSOLUTELY.
This question has been asked and answered numerous times.

Old 03-25-2024, 06:41 PM
Old_Soul
3rd Gear