1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

Simple oil leak question for a simple mechanic

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2019, 06:39 PM
Speck_d
5th Wheeling
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Simple oil leak question for a simple mechanic

Hello- recently I was looking down in the engine bay and noticed a small oil leak coming from the passenger side near the back of the engine. I cleaned it up and after pressing and feeling noticed some oil seeping out of the cover (see pics below). I am a very amateur mechanic, more determined then skilled, so could someone let me know the correct way to fix the leak- i'm guessing a new gasket? Any guidance would be appreciated as well! Thanks- Spencer

after pressing on the cover I noticed some oil coming out of where the cover meets the engine.

seepage when pressed!

Old 01-08-2019, 12:03 AM
farmert
Logistics Pro
Received 518 Likes on 252 Posts
Have you tried to tighten the bolts for the valve cover? And all are in place? The one in the rear can be a bear sometimes.This would be my first line of attack. The gaskets have an o-ring type seal in them, but that is not to say they can't go bad.

Old 01-08-2019, 12:05 PM
Speck_d
5th Wheeling
Thank you, i will try to tighten down the bolts again. Maybe loosen them all up and tighten all together to seat the cover properly. I’ll do that tonight and let you know how it goes!

Old 01-09-2019, 12:48 PM
knottyrope
Lead Driver
Received 874 Likes on 665 Posts
there are some studs on the rear that you need to remove the nuts from in order to tighten them up on the VC

Old 01-09-2019, 02:17 PM
Hit Man X
Lead Driver
Received 1,172 Likes on 953 Posts
Thumbs up

97in-lbs is the torque spec, tighten them correctly. Helps immensely to remove the few 8mm screws that hold the vacuum reservoir to the HVAC box.

https://smile.amazon.com/GearWrench-...ch+flex+socket