1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Carbureted 351w build ideas

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2018, 10:10 PM
KellKhando
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Carbureted 351w build ideas

Hey fellow Ford fans, my name is Kell.
I have a 1986 F250 2wd that has a 351w that is carbureted, and has the auto transmission.

I dont know much about this truck, but it currently doesnt run. I want to pull the motor and rebuild it.

I am new to building engines and I have read a lot of great information on this site, but want to make sure that I order the right parts/best parts for my needs. So any help/ideas would be appreciated. Links to informative articles/videos/build threads are welcome!

Im looking to get into the 375-400hp range. Its a 2wd truck, so Im only running 33s for tires.

1)I want to bore it .030" over. Which rotating assembly/guts are good? Which heads-gt40s, aftermarket, etc? How can I figure out which parts work together so I don't have to ask you fine folks? I would like to be self sufficient as much as possible. Im not very well at searching and navigating the forums though lol.

2) I want to swap the auto trans for a 5 speed manual. Is there a good tutorial, and which transmission would work for my truck? What donor vehicles/years do they come out of?

3) whats a good aftermarket radiator to run?

Thanks in advance, I'm trying to make this a fun learning experience..

-Kell

Old 11-20-2018, 02:45 PM
FuzzFace2
Fleet Owner
Received 2,107 Likes on 1,795 Posts
It is good to get ideas from people but they need to know what the truck will be used for and the big one how much $$$$ you can throw at it.
What parts do you have or you have nothing?

The other thing is talk to machine shops or others that have use that shop for motor machine work.
That shop will need to see the motor before they can give any information on what it will need.