Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

92 f150 budget build

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2018, 01:45 PM
87diesel
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
92 f150 budget build

I bought this f150 a few months ago for $200 because the head gasket was blown and I needed a winter project to keep me outta trouble. It's a 4.9 5 speed reg cab short bed 2wd with 2.73 rear end. I fixed the head gasket but the motors seen better days and the trans is alright but I've been tossing around making it a bit of a sleeper. I'm wanting to keep it as cheap as possible as far as using readily available parts and who knows from there. Im thinking maybe doing a 351 with a c6 trans and a floor shifter. I've never done anything like this before so itd be my first build so i figured id see how plausible it was. I can find a complete c6 for around $300 and I could probably find a donor truck for a few hundred so I can swap everything i need for the motor. What year motors would be most desireable? Should I keep it EFI? I don't have emissions testing where i live. Would i need a different crossmember for the c6 and could find a driveshaft or would it need to be custom? I'll keep the motor stock to start but how much power can the trans and 8.8 handle? If i do replace anything with a new part i'll get a quality one but if I can salvage most of it that'd be something to brag about in itself. Thanks

Old 08-12-2018, 12:23 PM
HardScrabble
Temporarily Deactivated
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by 87diesel