New owner 1974 F-100

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2018, 10:14 AM
jackietreehorn
Cargo Master
Received 184 Likes on 140 Posts
New owner 1974 F-100

Hey guys,

I'm new to dentsides and just picked up a '74 F-100 Ranger 302 auto lwb. I'm thinking of fixing it up, but not a frame off restore. Just to have something that works and looks decent. This truck is kinda special because it belonged to a late, great friend of the family. I cut my teeth on fixing up a '86 F-150, but I am in no way a mechanic.

The truck is complete down to the hubcabs, but has rust in all of the typical spots(arches, bed floor, cab corners), My biggest concern is rust hole through the air vent box? behind the driver front fender.

Second, the rust on top of the windshield trim, no holes yet, except for a quarter-size hole on the inside above the windshield (behind sun visor) .

Radiator core support is damaged and rusted on one side.

Frame, cross-members and somehow the floor are good.

I will post pictures tonight.

Is this truck worth saving?

Old 03-16-2018, 03:08 PM
meangreen92
Logistics Pro
Received 79 Likes on 71 Posts
Absolutely worth saving, and we haven't even seen any pics. You could get a new cab, or have someone patch yours. The roof is pretty common, but the cowl vent tank is maybe a little less common. If you're comfortable working on the newer truck, the Dentside might prove to be a treat to work on - minus any stuck fasteners...

Old 03-16-2018, 04:32 PM
niko20
More Turbo
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
F-100's seem to be the most popular truck if you browse YouTube ...tons of videos of people pimping them and dropping them (I think it's lame tho). Definitely a valuable truck to keep.

Old 03-16-2018, 05:10 PM
jackietreehorn
Cargo Master

I guess my point is i think after all the body work and drivetrain repairs, the bill would be more than the truck is worth? Tailgate is pretty rusted up, almost completey split in two. Driver door bottom is missing chunk.

Old 03-16-2018, 05:16 PM