Sponsored by: Moser

Wiring help needed please

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2017, 05:55 PM
Cody b
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wiring help needed please

Hello everyone yes I am new to this form. This is my first post with everyone. I have tried to search and have come up with a very close threads about what I'm about to ask. The issues I am running into are the ones that have photos that would best help me with my issue I cannot view.
So here are my questions I have a 76 F250 with a 79 F250 body on it. The wiring to the tail lights has been butchered throughout the years so I am currently re-wiring it as well as adding a fuel tank under the bed.
I attached a photo of the last few wires and I cannot figure out what they are too Or where they go. In the picture I included the color of the wire and the connector that would be on the end of the wire to maybe better help figure out what these wires are too and where they go. The colors are green with red stripe, brown with a purple stripe? A blue with no stripe, a purple with white stripe and a purple with no stripe. Thank you guys so much for your time.

Attached Images  
Old 09-22-2017, 02:00 AM
1TonBasecamp
Lead Driver
Received 740 Likes on 593 Posts
The pics make all the difference.

Originally Posted by Cody b
The colors are green with red stripe
The circuit most commonly associated with that is for the voltage regulator under the hood. I seem to remember that by '78 there may have been one or two more that used those colors so I'll check some diagrams and get back to you.

brown with a purple stripe
Doesn't ring a bell yet.

A blue with no stripe
The connector looks like that might be for an interior map light, or perhaps the carburetor anti-dieseling, or high-idle solenoid.

a purple with white stripe and a purple with no stripe.
Are the two purple wires you mention both on that same connector?
The Purple w/white and that "oval-ish" 2-pin connector look to be for the old brake warning lamp circuit.