Modular V10 (6.8l)  

2006 E450 6.8 Ping issues

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2017, 12:34 AM
McMechanic
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2006 E450 6.8 Ping issues

Hey all!!! New to the forums, but been crawling the web for a few weeks now trying to fix this bus.

First, the story:
2006 E450 6.8 215k Auto
Picked up and drove it about 50 miles to it's new destination. Had 1/2 tank in it. Our entire fleet gets fuel (I assume...they gave me a card) from the same company, and there are only two locations around here. Very impressed. Didn't know it was a v-10 when I picked it up. Ran and drove GREAT. PLENTY of power, on demand, no lag.

While in a caravan with another bus (diesel) to my shop (I'm an orchard mechanic), it got stuck in traffic. I was told it overheated (105 degrees ambient so probably had the AC running...I did not use the AC, but I was driving it in the morning. Was told they added water...with it being 105 out I doubt it was ice cold. Ended up going on a 10mph detour (accident closed the highway) that took 20 minutes (normal is 60mph for maybe 5). Did not overheat the rest of the way to shop (10min at 60mph). Originally I was to get the diesel bus and they were taking the 450 back. Now that it overheated, it's at the shop.

Here's where it get's weird:
Go to move it around the side and into shop. Check coolant tank. It's green, but between the lines. No milkshake. Into reverse, hit the gas. Nothing. No RPM increase for a good bit. As I let off and hit it again I looked at the tach. CEL is on. Wasn't before. Full tank of gas. I had to feather the pedal to get it to go, and it was rough when it did. First thought is head gaskets. Into drive, feather gas. Once she was past the hesitation, she moved. Roughly.