1961 - 1966 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Slick Sixties Ford Truck

Body work

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2006, 08:32 PM
Trypsyt
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Body work

I am completly new to this site. I bought a 66 f100 yesterday and I was wondering about some patch work on the body. What is a good way to fix a couple holes and a few rust spots?

Old 06-10-2006, 10:09 PM
jd_sylvia
Posting Guru

I am also new to the body work at hand.
I got a book from Eastwood about bumping metal that helps.
I plan on TIG welding most of my holes and leading in everything else. I have seen to many bad Bondo jobs so I think I am going lead.
I have been TIG welding for about 30+ years so that comes easy to me and I don't own a MIG welder.
Most people use MIG welders I think because of ease of use and they are less expesive to purchase.

Jon

Old 06-11-2006, 01:06 AM
WillyB
Post Fiend
Trypsyt, lots of people have tried lots of shortcuts, but the only way to fix rust is to replace the metal with sound new metal. Sometimes you can buy pre-formed panels that will work, sometimes they are junk, formed wrong and too thin.

You can form your own - the metal is just plain old cold rolled steel that you can buy anywhere for next to nothing, and you can used a piece from another truck.

You have to cut the old metal out past any that is rust damaged - if you leave any rusty areas behind and the rust will spread from there, wasting your work. (That is why it is called "cancer".)

The same is true of holes - they have to be filled with metal. Small bolt and screw holes can sometimes be filled with a soldering iron, or leaded over. Larger holes like for an antenna have to be filled with a steel panel cut and shaped to fit.

Sometimes people try to fill holes with putty (bondo), but that just leaves a source for rust to start, and the putty will eventually crack and fail.