1997 - 2003 F150 1997-2003 F150, 1997-1999 F250LD, 7700 & 2004 F150 Heritage

Need a Tune?

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2018, 01:20 AM
Roy Lewis Wilson
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need a Tune?

Hello, just signed up so please bare with me. I have a 2000 Ford F-150 Lariat 4 Door automatic 2 wheel drive transmission with a 4.6 v8. I installed a 3" cold air intake and a 75mm throttle body and a 3" Dynomax Ultra Flow muffler (no tail pipe yet). The transmission seems like it doesn't shift just right (too soon/low rpm) with the new throttle body installed. Gets great gas mileage but not much torque. I don't remember it taking so long to idle down after a rev before the new throttle body either. Sorry if this sounds dumb or I left something important out, I have basic knowledge and learning. Do I need to buy a $200-$600 tuner? What are my options and have I done something wrong? Thanks for any help.

Old 02-20-2018, 06:59 PM
enriched&beyound
Fleet Mechanic
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Originally Posted by Roy Lewis Wilson
Hello, just signed up so please bare with me. I have a 2000 Ford F-150 Lariat 4 Door automatic 2 wheel drive transmission with a 4.6 v8. I installed a 3" cold air intake and a 75mm throttle body and a 3" Dynomax Ultra Flow muffler (no tail pipe yet). The transmission seems like it doesn't shift just right (too soon/low rpm) with the new throttle body installed. Gets great gas mileage but not much torque. I don't remember it taking so long to idle down after a rev before the new throttle body either. Sorry if this sounds dumb or I left something important out, I have basic knowledge and learning. Do I need to buy a $200-$600 tuner? What are my options and have I done something wrong? Thanks for any help.
why did you install the 75mm throttle body? what were you hoping for?
the cold air intake probably was a waste of money.