1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Putting Old Trucks Back to Work!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2010, 09:56 PM
in_fords_we_trust_
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Putting Old Trucks Back to Work!!

Hey there!

Some have probably read a previous thread of mine on leaf springs; but, I thought I'd ask some of you about putting an old truck back to work.

I currently own a 1951 F-3. Not only is this my first car (I'll get my license when I can use my F-3 on the driving test )!! But I spent every dime of my summer work money on it to use it on the farm (Horses, goats, and llamas oh my!). And to make matters worse for this truck worse I'm fixing it up myself !!

I'm learning fast (I have no car building experience). But most of the information I can find on rebuilding a vintage car is for the show room or occasional driving. I want to rebuild this truck for work but also try to keep it as stock as possible (without braking the bank (meaning shoestring poor student budget) I don't mind using makeshift or non-Ford parts (though I'd prefer to use Ford).
What I want to know is this: Is there anyone out there, that has similiar goals as me?
If so please share your knowledge with me! What I currently have completed with this project is:

-Replaced engine found in truck (Broken Y-block Chevy year:?) with 302 (Someone adviced a cummins?)
-Replaced transmission with C-6 (Don't know what to do with the old one it's the original 4-speed)
-Found rims that look similiar to the original (Dodge Steel Wheels)
-Started taking it apart and sanding it down

Any information advice on what parts of this truck should be changed so it can work efficiantly is welcome!! I have alot of friends who know how to weld, work metal, own junkyards, etc. so I have options I just need to know what to do! Wow this was long winded!!!
Thanks all!!!

Last edited by in_fords_we_trust_; 03-11-2010 at 10:40 PM. Reason: forgot info