1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

Power Loss - Please Help

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2008, 07:55 PM
whack&stack
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Power Loss - Please Help

Hi this is my first time being on this sight and i really need help. I have a '97 F250 7.3 Power Stroke
I was driving down the interstate yesterday and all of the sudden lost power no loud noises I pulled over b/c the truck was running rough alot of vibration. I thought I might have busted a u-joint or the exaust had come lose and was hitting the driveshaft (the engine noise is noticably louder)
I started the truck back up and it starts ROUGH and has a ton of vibration and no get up at all. I limped it to the exit and took it to the dealership and left it there over the weekend. I had purchased fuel about 20 minutes prior to this happening and I checked the fuel filter and it was jet black i have only had the truck a year but i had bought it off a dealer and assumed it had been looked over before putting on the lot i have not put 8k on it yet. I replaced the fuel filter and tried running it thinking that the plugged filter was just starving it of fuel but it made no difference. BTW it also shifts rough now b/c it takes a long time to get the RPM's up. Is this an injector problem.

Old 08-10-2008, 08:38 PM
whack&stack
Elder User
thanks for all the help

Old 08-10-2008, 09:05 PM
F350-6
Post Fiend
Received 27 Likes on 23 Posts
Welcome to FTE. You may want to check down in the 94 - 97 7.3 section where more folks that have your motor hang out. It's located farther down the forum listing, or here's a link 1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Since the problem happened so soon after you bought fuel, you can't rule that out. Have you ever changed the fuel filter in the year that you've had it? Did you drain the fuel filter to check for any signs of water in the fuel? (water will settle to the bottom of a container).