Sponsored by:

bunch of questions from a noob

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2008, 11:07 PM
ford montana
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
bunch of questions from a noob

OK fellas, I'm new to diesels so here are the my questions. firstly my truck is a 2000 CC 4x4 7.3 srw . things i think that were done to it before i got it. i think the exhaust was done appears not to have a muffler and is about four inches around, k&n type air cleaner, and it looks to be leveled i don't think lifted and 35inch tires. i bought gauges but haven't installed them yet. when i install them what kind of temps should i watch out for,on the trans and exhaust and what does the boost gauge warn me about. i don't do alot of towing yet but hope to find a toy hauler 5er soon. i get the max towing weights but how much king pin weight can i handle. i am from montana very hilly terrain if that makes a difference. thanx for your help

Old 04-01-2008, 12:26 PM
miller_feed
Hook it, I'll pull it.

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Welcome to FTE,

Look at the down pipe coming off the turbo, if it is 4", you have a after market exhaust. Next, Get rid of the K&N filter, look in the 7.3 fourm and do a search for the 6637 filter. Way better for our Diesels.

On the trans temp, don't let it get over 210* 220*, try to keep it under 200*. You will not see that high of temp not towing.

EGT, keep that under 1250*, again you should not see that unless towing. Sometimes with a tuned engine at WOT, you can get close.

Boost, I can make 30+ # boost with what I have on my truck. Our turbo does not like over 25# boost. The boost guage could let you know if you get a lead in one of your IC boots.

Come visit us in the 7.3 fourm, many great people and loads of info.

Old 04-01-2008, 12:43 PM
stormyrider
Elder User