1983 - 2012 Ranger & B-Series All Ford Ranger and Mazda B-Series models

'89 timing off

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2008, 03:45 PM
jaboblount
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'89 timing off

1989 ford ranger super v6 2.9 2wd fuel injected. went to take the distributor cap off and the screws broke off in the distributor, so got a new distributor. my mistake was i did not mark any thing so now my timing is off. i would be very thankful for any help. this was supose to be a tune up now its become a pain. i know the passanger side front is number one piston and the firing order is 142536.if i am wroung let me know. i am no mechanic. so if anybody will help me i need to know step by step on what to do.
thanks again for any help

Old 02-18-2008, 10:22 PM
jaboblount
New User
someone told me that i could just rotate the wires clockwise on the distributor ,until it fires, is this posible.meaning where number 4 is number 1 would go in number 4 place, where number 2 is 4 would go in its place and so forth .PLEASE HELP ME I NEED MY TRUCK

Old 02-18-2008, 11:00 PM
bluedevil3758
Senior User
i would ask at this fourm theyll help u out,

rangerpowersports.com

and ur timing should prob be 8 -10dbtdc not sure specificly but thatll let it run until u do find out the exact number,

Old 02-18-2008, 11:23 PM
ford2go
Cargo Master
Received 156 Likes on 94 Posts
This is probably covered in more detail in a Chilton's or a Haye's manual.

To make sure -- you replaced the whole distributor -- correct? You're not going to fix that by moving spark plug wires.

(If you just replaced the distributor cap, get a manual and find out where the plug wires go)

To set timing. general procedure.
Setup
Pull the plugs, disable the fuel pump, pull the power from the ignition coil

1. Crank the engine until #1 piston is coming up on a COMPRESSION stroke.
2. Stop the engine when the timing mark is aligned at 10BTDC (Ford static timing)