1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

1986 Ford 3 on a Tree

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2007, 03:49 PM
mike171271
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1986 Ford 3 on a Tree

I have a f150 I think it's a 303 with a 3 gear manual colum shift I have heard it reffered to as "3 ON A TREE". I am honestly clueless about this, but the engine runs great and it has a new clutch the gear selection is extreamly sloppy. It can be very hard to select 1st gear and to get reverse I have to shift into first then reverse. Is it possible to have this fixed without replacing the whole box or having it rebuilt. If I can what parts do I need . Please remember I am a complete novice.

Old 09-18-2007, 08:36 PM
Franklin2
Received 1,707 Likes on 1,381 Posts
You need to get someone in the truck to shift from reverse to 1st, while you are under the hood and under the truck(with the engine off). It will become apaarent right away whats wrong if you see slop in the linkage.

If the linkage just doesn't seem to line up, you might have the old chevy truck syndrome. The old chevies where famous for the body mounts rusting and the cab would drop down toward the frame. Of course this would also pull the steering column down, and this would throw the gear linkage off.

Old 09-18-2007, 09:12 PM
IrishMike
Freshman User