6.4L Power Stroke Diesel Engine fitted to 2008 - 2010 F250, F350 and F450 pickup trucks and F350 + Cab Chassis

Buying Advice

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2007, 10:33 AM
Rockett
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Buying Advice

I'm a newbie here.

I currently have an 07 Dodge 1500 gasser and as stupid as it is to trade the first year that ya own a vehicle, I am really dying to have a diesel. My easiest swtich would be another Dodge, but a dielsel version. I love my Dodge, but the quad cab is a bit small and the maga cab is too big. The Ford is just right. My concern is the bad rumblings surrounding the new Ford Powerstroke (the power and the milelage). The Cummins still gets the good reviews, but not nessesarily does the Dodge truck itself.

I live in a rural area, but travel into the city a few times a week. (mega cab is ruled out for the city and I don't have kids yet). I tow a 19" Airstream occasionally, a motorcycle trailer occasionally and a flat bed occasionally. The 15000 does fine with all but the Airstream. Mileage goes down by almost half when I tow that ****.

I really like the looks of the 08 Fords. (the 250 is what I'm pondering). Like the Dodge looks too. Brand allegence aside, what buying advice does anyone have on this situation?

Thanks a 1/4 ton!

Old 09-09-2007, 11:54 AM
SANDDEMON08
Posting Guru

Originally Posted by Rockett
I'm a newbie here.

I currently have an 07 Dodge 1500 gasser and as stupid as it is to trade the first year that ya own a vehicle, I am really dying to have a diesel. My easiest swtich would be another Dodge, but a dielsel version. I love my Dodge, but the quad cab is a bit small and the maga cab is too big. The Ford is just right. My concern is the bad rumblings surrounding the new Ford Powerstroke (the power and the milelage). The Cummins still gets the good reviews, but not nessesarily does the Dodge truck itself.