Modular V10 (6.8l)  

exhaust ?'s

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2006, 09:41 PM
ron86toy
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
exhaust ?'s

I am now a 1 week owner of a v10(absolutly love it).I have been pricing exhausts.......600.00 for a cat-back?WTF....I dont have that in a stainless exhaust from header to tip in my crawler.Like I said I am new to the v10 and I am not a cheap ***(even if I cant afford it),but I dont see where a cat-back is worth 600.00.
I guess I am asking if purchased is it worth the money?Or is it just putting out a different tone that I can get for a couple hundred at the muffler shop?
I know these trucks have a pretty distictive sound....not a flowmaster fan(mustang owners ruined that...no offence),always liked the sound of Borla's on my old big block Chevy.....they sound good on the v10?

Thanks

Old 12-18-2006, 09:51 PM
sewerat
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I have a 2005 4.6 f150 that i put a magnaflow on and liked the sound, i just put a flowmaster 40 on 2000 v10 and love the sound of it, it sounds as close to as i think can get a big ole block muscle car should sound. all i did was weld in the muffler maybe lost some performace but saved about $400 in doing so. Btw i did not like the sound of the flowmaster on the 4.6 it was too loud for me on it.

Old 12-18-2006, 11:29 PM
NoMo
Postmaster
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
If it were mine, I'd take it to a local shop and have a new Y-pipe and less restrictive muffler installed then spend the other $400 on fuel.

You'll have to decide for yourself on the sound issue. There are a lot of exhaust threads in this forum with links to clips of various systems. Find the one you like.

Old 12-19-2006, 01:04 AM
V10man
Postmaster
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts