1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Valve, ticking and sticking - 1952 F1 239 flathead R code

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2002, 08:58 AM
bryanknie
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have a valve that seems to stick open causing a commpresson loss and a little ticking noise. I assume it ticks because it is slightly open and when the cam shaft turns it hits it open farther. Otherwise this engine runs beautiful.
I have never done a valve job before, but I am pretty mechanical.

I have already tryed mystery oil in the cylinder, gas and oil and transmission fluid in the carb while running trick, nothing has worked to date. The problem is intermitent, but when it reappears I do get a slight miss.

Are any special tools needed to remove the valves or can I do it with the regular stuff, how hard is it, any advice? What else should I do when I get in there with the heads and manifold off. I would like to try it my self,

How much would I expect to pay if I find a local shop? Anyone know of a good shop/person in the Ft Lauderdale area?

Thanks

Bryan

Old 07-26-2002, 02:29 PM
darkhorse54
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

When you get the heads off turn the heads to one side and poor gas in the intake ports til full then let it sit for about 4 minutes and see if they hold, but if they leak then you'll have to do a complete valve job. A couple of weeks ago I ran a compression test on my sons friends car because it had a bad miss, it had really good compression in 7 cylinders so I thought he may of have a burnt valve but when we pulled the head the valve was bent so we took it to the machine shop and they had a used valve that they put back in it and the cost was only $20.00.

Old 07-26-2002, 03:07 PM
bryanknie
Senior User

Thanks, I dont understand, my motor is an original FLATHEAD, the valves are in the block.

Can you better explain?

Bryan

Old 07-26-2002, 09:50 PM
48f6
Cross-Country