2007 - 2014 Expedition & Navigator 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014 Ford Expedition and Lincoln Navigator

Question for the group

Old 09-19-2006, 06:08 PM
sully16
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question for the group

How y'all doing. I got an opportunity I hope some of you can lend your advice/experience to help me make up my mind about. I am in the market for a new vehicle. I got the standard American family....couple of kids, the wife and a large lab. I currently own a 2001 F-250 SD so they whole clan won't fit in my rig comfortably. This puts me in the market for either a SUV or, cough, a mini van type thing. This will be the wife’s ride anyway. I'm currently deployed in Iraq<ST1</ST1 (Marines) and have a chance to get a 2007 eddie bauer 4x4 expedition (addition of the trailer towing package, convenience package and luggage rack) for 35K through some program the military has. That sounds like a pretty good deal to me but I have no experience or frame of reference for what you can get an SUV like this for back stateside at a dealer. Plus with gas prices the way they are, is owning a 250 (diesel) and an expedition gonna burry me? I know it ain't gonna be pretty. My other option is to get a 2007 Honda Odyssey, which by the way is around 35K as well. I know I'd much rather have the expedition but I suppose the Honda gets better gas mileage. Don't know if it'll hold up on those camping trips though.
My questions are, 1. What would you all do in my shoes? 2. What kind of gas mileage do you expedition owners get? and 3. Is 35K for the 2007 Expedition a good price? Let me know what y'all think.

Old 09-19-2006, 06:30 PM
Eric123
New User
The MSRP for the car you described (4x4 EB with convenience, luggage rack, and trailer packages) on the Ford website is $40,415, so $35,000 sounds like a great deal to me.