Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Ignition problem

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2006, 10:24 PM
seanp
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ignition problem

I have an 88 Ford F150, 8 cyl 305. I have power, and have a strong battery. When I turn the key all the way forward, all I hear is "CLICK" coming from the engine compartment. When I turn it back to just "on" not "start", I hear the click again. I *thought* this was the starter, and replaced it. But I still hear the same damn sound. Now, I'm not very experienced at working on cars and trucks (although that is slowly changing with this vehicle) - it took me about thirty minutes to find the starter. I do know that I changed it out correctly, though, and the one I just put on has a new solonoid also. I"ll take the old starter to the parts store tomorrow to test it - but what else am I looking at here? I'm nearly positive it's not the ground cable. What other tests or symptoms can I check for, and what else in the ignition cycle can be out?

Old 09-12-2006, 10:51 PM
albung
Senior User
could be relays powering and even though you bought new could be defective a quick test is to jump soiliod??could be netural switch or mlps?? i think its called but take a screwdriver and put between bat wire pos to small stud non solinoid should turn over if starter is good if not try jumping two bat wires on starter relay together ,one from bat to one from starter......and if you get nothing id change out your batt cables and check for ground........ever try to start in netural?.....with foot on brake of course

Old 09-12-2006, 10:53 PM
albung
Senior User
oh by the way starter relay or solinoid should be near batt on pass side your pos terminal goes to it

Old 09-12-2006, 11:39 PM
seanp
New User