98 4.2L rebuild advice

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2006, 06:16 PM
Cerberus742
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
98 4.2L rebuild advice

I've got a 98 that I've beat the ever loving dog poo out of for the last year. It had 97K on it when I bought it, and I was told then that I needed a bunch of new gasketry (intake manifold, probably head, and timing chain), but then proceeded to up the ante to 216K miles, all the while pulling loads I shouldn't even be thinking of pulling with the 4.2 5spd. I've been through clutches, etc, whatever. I have to say I'm very impressed with the 4.2. And I've always liked fords. (I could never have gotten away with all this using a bowtie)

The point is, I'm an amateur engine rebuilder (I've built a couple rally cars, but they were cars), and was wondering if anyone had any advice outside the Haynes manual that would assist me in doing some work to my 4.2. Should I take it out or leave it in. If I take it out I'm going to do a full teardown and rebuild on the engine (as long as it's out).

Can I do the head, intake, and timing chain gaskets without pulling it?

My mechanic friend said something about pulling off the front end or the cab itself to get the thing out of there (frankly I wouldn't be surprised what with all this cab forward BS.)...

I guess I'd just like to be reassurred by someone who's done it that it ain't so bad.

Thanks,
Cerberus.

I have a shop crane, plenty of jacks and stands, and consider myself a competent mechanic, I'm just generally lazy, and since Jumbles won't fit in my slim single car garage with winter approaching... I don't think I need to say more. Oh, yeah, and I'm generally broke. So the less NEW parts, the better.

Old 09-05-2006, 07:06 PM
tcc
New User