1997 - 2003 F150 1997-2003 F150, 1997-1999 F250LD, 7700 & 2004 F150 Heritage

Leveling Kits

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2006, 09:53 PM
frazier2209
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Leveling Kits

I am new to this so please bear with me. Ride is a 2000 F-150 SCab. 4x4.

What is the difference in a leveling kit like this:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/2-5-l...QQcmdZViewItem

Compared to one with add-a-leafs like this: ???
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/97-03...QQcmdZViewItem

How much will the new leaf springs help me??

The first link says I can fit 35's with the kit.
While the 2nd says 33's. -Heck I can fit 33's stock!

Any advice here and useful tips??

Thanks.

Old 08-09-2006, 09:58 PM
GammaDriver
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Depending on your rear's height, you may be able to level out your 4x4 by jacking up the torsion bars. It worked for me and, save for an alignment (needed anyway), it was free.

I wrote about it in the fifth post here: https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/5...sion-lift.html

Last edited by GammaDriver; 08-09-2006 at 10:01 PM.
Old 08-09-2006, 10:11 PM
frazier2209
New User
Ok, so would it be beneficial to me to put the keys on there or should I just save the money??

When you are saying shake it from side to side I assume this is not done with a jack??

Anything else I need to know?? Which direction is up??

Old 08-09-2006, 10:41 PM
GammaDriver
Posting Guru
LOL, see that blue sky? That's 'up'. Green grass is 'down'.

Sorry...

Anyways, clockwise (laying on your back in your driveway, looking up at the bolt heads), the traditional 'tightening' direction, is 'up'. Depending ont he truck, though, you may be only able to get 1" to 1.5" of lift to the front - after that, a true leveling kit of some sort will probably be needed due to alignment issues.