1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

'48 F1 Front End Re-build

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2006, 11:47 PM
jreilly57
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'48 F1 Front End Re-build

I'd like to re-build the front end of this old truck to see if I can't make ol Henry a little more stable on the road. Being 58 years old, he tends to wander a bit which, as I get older I can certainly relate to! I have bought new tie rod ends, a king pin re-build kit, and new wheel bearings, races and drum seals (it already has a new drag link, courtesy of the previous owner). I've never done this before, but heck, I'm an engineer, I have the shop manual and the front end on an old F1 doesn't look all that complex. I'm just not sure I have all the necessary tools, and don't exactly know what to ask for. Here are the questions I have.

When disassembling the spindle assembly, the shop manual says you can remove the old bushings by "driving a small center punch between the bushing and the spindle at the split end of the bushing. This will collapse the bushing for easy removal". What about pressing the new bushings in? Can I just use a vice, or do I need a certain tool? The manual also says to "line ream them (the bushings) to required size" What sort of magic tool does this? I really don't want to go into Kragen and ask the cute 18 year old female clerk, "Do you have a reamer??" What would I ask for?

Someone else said, at this point I would be better off bringing the spindle and the bushings to a machine shop and have them press them on and "ream" them, but I'd really like to do it myself not only to save money, but to learn.