Sponsored by: Moser

'79F150 sound system continued . . .

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2001, 08:12 PM
jjy120
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

thanks for the info guys. what type of "boxes" are out there? what are the best for the money, basically something good i can get at walmart. i just have a am/fm radio with two speakers in the doors, and i'd like to have something behind with a little punch, but i'm not planning on having an amp yet, but maybe in the future. does the box need to be secured to the back or bottom of the cab, or does it just sit in there? won't it vibrate or knock around? also, someone mentioned storage pouches on the seats? they sound handy, where can i get them? i'm new to the old ford trucks, so if any one can give me some hints or things that work well, or look good, or are very useful/functional please let me know!
jesse

Old 07-10-2001, 08:45 PM
rwjr
Senior User

[font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON 10-Jul-01 AT 09:58 PM (EST)[/font][p]i would reccommend, if you don't do the whole sound system at once, to do it in complete parts rather that itty bitty ones...if you are going to get an amp eventually, them i'd wait and get the amp and subs(and box) together...i tried the over time approach with my car and was disappointed...but with my truck, i got the new head unit and speakers first, then when i could afford it, i got the amp, subs, and box...i forget what kind of amp it had, but i had 12" rockford fosgates in a box that was 1/2" shorter than the seat back release lever...it was shaped like truck boxes, but it was one long box....so it fit PERFECTLY behind the seat....the amp was under the seat, after having to raise it an inch...
oh...that was in a 77 4x4

i'll try to find the specs on that box, if you want....

Old 07-10-2001, 08:45 PM
79supercab4x4
Senior User