Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner

How Much Boost Will My '00 PSD Handle??

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2005, 12:42 AM
jtharvey
Lead Driver
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question How Much Boost Will My '00 PSD Handle??

I've done some searching, but can't seem to find an answer. I'm wondering how much boost will my 2000 Powerstroke (late build) handle, without changing internal parts like pistons, rods, etc?

I've heard that the connecting rods and head gaskets are the limiting factors on the PSD. But, I'd like to know how much each one is capable of before breaking or blowing out. What if the heads were O-ringed?

Thanks for the great forum. I've gained a lot of knowledge from you all, and avoided some costly mistakes too.

Old 12-22-2005, 01:59 AM
wlihntr
Postmaster
your 2000 has forged rods which is good. the turbo is rated at 25psi but alot of people run them up to 30-35 psi for short spurts with no real problem ( i have been doing it for 4 years now). you will blow out the stock head gaskets at around 40 psi

Old 12-22-2005, 10:28 AM
jtharvey
Lead Driver
What about the rods? How much boost will they take before they snap? Say I were to have the heads o-ringed: how much boost will an o-ringed head handle?

There's 150,000 miles on the stock turbo, and I'm thinking of replacing it with something that can run more boost. This PSD is no longer my daily driver, so I've got some time to make big power, but I'd like to know where the weak points are in these diesels.

Old 12-22-2005, 01:01 PM
Fat Diesel
Logistics Pro

Received 99 Likes on 55 Posts