Sponsored by:

4 Wheel drive on dry pavement

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2005, 11:18 AM
MichSandSquid
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
4 Wheel drive on dry pavement

OK, I'm still kind of new to the 4 wheelin aspect of life, but I was looking at some back posts and saw someone say that you should not run 4 wheel drive on dry pavement. Why is that, I know if I'm asking, someone else out there is asking too.

Thanks
Steve

Old 11-14-2005, 11:26 AM
bigredtruckmi
Lead Driver
Received 218 Likes on 50 Posts
Because the front axle runs at a slightly faster speed than the rear. You could tear things apart while making a turn.

Old 11-14-2005, 11:35 AM
MichSandSquid
Senior User
Thanks bigred......

Old 11-14-2005, 12:37 PM
Kemicalburns
Hotshot
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
you can tear things up just going strait. the tcase is usually first to go in such situations.

Old 11-14-2005, 01:00 PM
aurgathor
Cargo Master
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
The problem is mainly in turns since the difference between front and rear is only 0.01. What happens is that since in turns the wheels on one side travel more than the others, that will put some stress on the driveline that can build up if there's a good traction.

Old 11-14-2005, 05:40 PM
greystreak92
Post Fiend
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Even minor discrepancies in the driveline gearing go a long way when all four wheels are planted firmly on dry pavement no matter whether its straight line, 'round in circles, race weaving... the transfer case chain suffers the most since its the link between the front and rear driveshafts. S-T-R-E-T-C-H!!! and eventually SNAP!

Old 11-14-2005, 07:19 PM
cjbronco
Tuned