Sponsored by: DP Tuner

newbie can use some help

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2005, 07:21 PM
prplhz96
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation newbie can use some help

Well fellas, im new to the ford-truck site, but not to the breed. I have a problem with my 01 f550 diesel, and hopefully you guys can lend some advice. I parked the truck friday after work, and went to use start it yesterday am( i am a mason, it is mostly used for sand), and it wont start. I purchased the truck new, and never had any problems at all, all routine maintance was done, this truck is immaculate. First thing I notice after it wont start is the truck is low on fuel, so I add 10 gallons. The truck wasent empty( I think) it came home fine and I still had 1/8 on the gauge. So now I have a little more than a 1/4. Next I go to fuel filter, I replace it, still no start. Next I loosen the fittings on the bottom of the filter, with the key on to get the pump to push, and no air out of the lines just fuel. I checked all fuses, all grounds everything that I know. Now this next part might make some of you cringe but I was desperate ( gotta make a living ). I hook it up to my 350 and pull it to catch it in gear, still nothing. While I pulling it, (i was trying to catch it in 3rd), my rpm gauge didnt move(not sure if that is bad or not). But to make a long story short, it still is not running. Also put in a k@n, and checked oil while i was going over everything. Any help would be GREATLY APPRECIATED.Thanks

Old 10-18-2005, 07:34 PM
johnny8
Postmaster
sounds like your cps has gone bad... tach not moving while you are cranking the engine says that is the most likely culprit... do a search in this forum... lots of posts on this... not too hard to change... don't buy it at the dealership though unless you absolutely HAVE TO..! too much $$$

Old 10-18-2005, 07:36 PM
PowerstrokeJunkie
Post Fiend
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Hi prplhz96, welcome to FTE!