Sponsored by: DP Tuner

7.3 turbo upgrades?

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2005, 01:28 AM
sean23johnson
More Turbo
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
7.3 turbo upgrades?

i own a 2001 F-250 PSD with 58,000 miles on it. i have 4in exhaust,edge programer and a brand new ATS trans ($$$$$$). i love the way it tows and drives but i want more power, of corse. i cant afford a new ball bearing turbo, but i was thinking about installing a wicked wheel. my turbo has a weird wine, and i am wondering if it is going to go on me. so i would like to crack it open and make some modifications to it, but i am new to this diesel thing and i dont want to hurt the truck. i was wondering what you powerstroke experts have to say.
thanks.

Old 05-25-2005, 07:21 PM
cookie88
Hotshot
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Takes more fuel to make more power, not more air. The sum of the available upgrades for your turbo are the wheel, an ATS compressor housing, and a larger A/R exhaust housing.

None of those upgrades will make any more power. They will cure compressor surge (if you have it), lower EGT's, and probably make it feel a little snappier, but unless you smoke heavily to the top of the tach. they won't actually make any power.

How weird is weird? Is it a whine that's it's always made, or has it started recently?

Old 05-25-2005, 08:25 PM
lukecline
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by cookie88
Takes more fuel to make more power, not more air.

What???? If that is the case then why were turbos added to diesels, maybe to add more air and increase efficency (sp?). The rest of your advice i agree with but this i do not.

luke

Old 05-25-2005, 08:48 PM
cookie88
Hotshot
Originally Posted by lukecline
What???? If that is the case then why were turbos added to diesels, maybe to add more air and increase efficency (sp?). The rest of your advice i agree with but this i do not.

luke