1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Using trailer brakes

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2005, 07:13 AM
Ed Willmott
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Using trailer brakes

My truck came with trailer brakes -not sure of the brand and I have never used them before so I need a basic primer on what I need to know - I will be picking up a 16ft enclosed trailer soon. (dual axle 7000 GVW, but mostly empty.)

I know about the two dials. How to I determine the best setting? Is it the kind of thing that I have to get out on the road and make some stops to see?

Also, is there anyway to test the system before I drive 3 hours to pick up this trailer? I would hate to get all the way down there and find out something is wrong and be uncomfortable hauling it back.

Thanks!

Old 03-16-2005, 07:26 AM
marspec
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
If you have a Tekonsha you can go to their website and get the instructions.

www.tekonsha.com

Also you can check at the plug to see if voltage is applied to the brake pin when the slide is moved all the way. Must move slide as Tekonsha is proportional and if truck is not moving no voltage is applied. That's usually a two person operation. One to move slide, other to check voltage.

Old 03-16-2005, 07:42 AM
chief83
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
If you have an older brake controller you can have someone step on the brakes (or hold the manual control in the on position) and check the trailer plug with a voltage tester. I would not worry too much about the controller not working even if you don't get a chance to test it prior to picking up your trailer. A 16' trailer, tandem axle that's empty won't significantly impact the braking ability of your truck.

Old 03-16-2005, 08:59 AM
SLE
Posting Guru
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts