Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Ignition/Key seems stiff, please advise

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2005, 11:44 AM
Frank Lang
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ignition/Key seems stiff, please advise

The ignition seems stiff on my 1988 Ford F150 XLT. It has been that way since I bought it used about 18 months ago. It is even stiffer when it's cold out, but even in warm temperatures, it takes a bit of effort to turn the key to start the truck, unlike any other vehicle I have owned. It doesn't seem to grind/squeak or anything, just seems very stiff. Everything works right, and the truck is in good condition. Is there any kind of lubrication/silicone, etc. that might free it up a bit, or is there likely a defective part? It has not seemed to get any worse in the past 18 months.
I am not very good at mechanical stuff, so don't want to take the steering column apart, but any other easy advice would be welcome.
Thanks,
Frank.

Old 02-15-2005, 12:38 PM
guzzler96
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb