1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Pre-Turbo, Post-Turbo, Manifold Installed Pyro?

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2005, 04:12 PM
td3excursion
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Pre-Turbo, Post-Turbo, Manifold Installed Pyro?

I just ordered the Magnaflow 4" SS system which has the bung installed in the downpipe for the pyrometer(which I also ordered). I'm new to diesel's so excuse the newbie question here: is installing the sending unit in the downpipe post-turbo(after the turbo)? And if that's right, I've read different posts saying that the best location for the sending unit is pre-turbo. How would I go about installing it that way? Just to throw in another question, the directions say to drill the manifold for installation. Is this the best way to install? And if so, is that pre or post turbo? I know alot of you guys know the answer to this one, I've tried searching posts and just haven't gotten definite answers. Thanks to everyone out there!

Old 01-12-2005, 04:16 PM
Robbgt
Logistics Pro
Received 83 Likes on 55 Posts
Hey there.... The vote of almost everyone on this site is going to go pre-turbo....in the manifold. You will want to CAREFULLY dirll and tap a hole, use a magnet if posible to get ALL the metal fillings out of the manifold, (also dip the drill in oil, so it will keep shavings to a minimum) and install a thermocouple into the hole.... Pre turbo gives you a MUCH more accurate reading about what is happening in you engine. Exhuast Gas temperatures, (EGT's) can be much lower after the turbo, affecting the accuracy of the reading. It's better to knowing befor you have a problem, and pre turbo will allow for that.... Good luck w/ everything!!!

Last edited by Robbgt; 01-12-2005 at 04:19 PM.
Old 01-12-2005, 04:26 PM
kabcpapc
More Turbo
Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts