Aerostar Ford Aerostar

trying to install new belt on my 92 Aerostar

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2005, 03:32 PM
kevinj30
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation trying to install new belt on my 92 Aerostar

I have a 92 Aerostar with a 3.0. The alternator serpentine belt broke on me so I took it to the local parts store to match it up. The new belt has way to much slack in it. I have routed it and re-routed it to make sure it was right. I am pretty new at doing my own repairs. I got tired of lining someone elses pockets.
Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Old 01-03-2005, 03:38 PM
Muffinman
Laughing Gas
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
The sticker on the inside shows you how it's routed.

Old 01-03-2005, 04:56 PM
kevinj30
New User
sticker under hood

In someones infinite wisdom they removed the sticker on my Aerostar I have followed the diagram in the Chiltons and also the diagram at Autozone.com. If you have any additional ideas I would greatly appreciate it as I have seem to run out of ideas I am pretty sure that I have routed it correctly but there it an excess amount of play in the belt. Please help

Old 01-03-2005, 05:31 PM
copper_90680
Postmaster
Kevin:

First, check and make sure the belt is of the correct length. When I replaced my A/C compressor, the pulley on the new compressor is slightly larger then the original one and I had to get a belt that was 1/2" longer than the original belt.

Second, click on my alias and choose "Send e-mail" and send me an e-mail message, that way I'll get your e-mail address and I'll send you a picture of the correct routing.

Regards

Old 01-03-2005, 05:48 PM
reever
Elder User
Been there done that! Do a search in this forum on "serpentine belt"

There is a thread with drawings and diagrams. I should know, I was all over that thread!!