Garage & Workshop Tips & Ideas for the garage or workshop. No Truck Tech Discussion   

Mig welding/ welders

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2004, 10:25 PM
f-4x4
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mig welding/ welders

ok im 16 and im great with a stick welder and i would like to purchase a good mig welder for auto body and light fabrication. what i have know is a century 220v stick welder. I would like to spend about 350-400 to get a good welder and the sheliding gsas to get started with. what would you suggest. and how long does a gas tank last and how much is it to fill. Im looking at the hobart handelr 125 . thanks in advanced for any input

Old 12-04-2004, 10:50 PM
UglyGreenFordMachine
New User
I've been welding for about thirty years...I got a Hobart Handler about 8 or 10 years ago & love it. Plug it in almost anywhere. It's great. I use small tank of CO2 for shielding and it lasts and lasts. Here in Vegas it costs about $25.00 to refill/exchange the tank. The Handler has paid for itself many times over...and I just use it for truck repairs, building neighbors' fences and gates, and a few side jobs. If you like to weld, you can't go wrong with this machine. Good luck. P.S. PRACTICE-PRACTICE-PRACTICE.
Welding of all kinds is a great craft to learn and you'll find uses for it your whole life.

Old 12-04-2004, 11:06 PM
f-4x4
Senior User
is the co2 good for welding thin metals and have you heard any thing good about the craftsman welders

Old 12-04-2004, 11:15 PM
RodbusterGS
Junior User
If I had to guess, I would say that craftsman welders are no good. No experience with them at all, but IMO there are about four brands that I would consider. Real, proven names in the industry. Hobart is a good choice along with ESAB, Miller (my preference, what I use at work) and Lincoln.

Old 12-04-2004, 11:16 PM
UglyGreenFordMachine
New User