Explorer, Sport Trac, Mountaineer & Aviator 1991-1994, 1995-2001, 2002-2005, 2006-2010 Ford Explorer

Help !97 Explorer won't start

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2004, 10:40 PM
obh
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help !97 Explorer won't start

Hi All
I just bought an 1997 Explorer XLT 2 months ago, it ran fine until last weekend, I parked it and then came back to start it the next day, the starter and battery work fine but the engine won't run. I checked all the fuses and relays, no sign of any problems. No error codes are generated when hooked up too !
I can smell gas when I am trying to start it which indicates that gas is flowing to the engine.
Has anyone had similar experience ? I would appreciate any feedback
PS : this is my first letter to the forum so excuse me if I chose the wrong forum

Old 11-09-2004, 11:49 PM
sjwoody
Senior User
I'm no great mechanic by any means, but I'd start with a check of the fuel pressure at the test port on the fuel rail. Even though you smell fuel, I'd start there. Also check for fuel at the fuel press regulator vacuum line. If that's all ok, then I'd go to the ignition system and check for spark. If you don't have any spark, there's a check in the Haynes manual for checking the coils. I'd stick with the basics at this point...fuel and ignition checks.

Old 11-10-2004, 06:13 AM
bitsakis
New User
97 Explorer wont start WHEN COLD

I have a similar problem, need help as well:

-97 Explorer V6 OHC
-Did not start last 2 mornings (25 deg F or less both days, first time this season)
-Starts FINE at nite
-Check Engine lighth has been on a couple of weeks.

Old 11-10-2004, 06:17 AM
bitsakis
New User
Had a similar "no start" problem in the past with this truck as well. Very sporadic, left me stranded in several places. Troubleshot to "no spark". Had the car towed, over time, to 3 separate Ford dealers who were all useless.