Help, 5.4 missing under heavy Load

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2004, 11:38 PM
Ramtek
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Help, 5.4 missing under heavy Load

Hi, I'm a newbie, I just signed up. But I have been reading your forums for a while. I have a 2001 E-150 customized van that I use to pull a 28 foot travel trailer. I just noticed on my trip last week when I was accelerating to get up onto the interstate that when I pushed the pedal down halfway or more, there was less power, and felt like it was missing. When I would let up on the pedal, back to a third of the way down, it would run fine, and I had more power.

It starts good, and idles good, when I'm not pulling the trailer, I never push the pedal down far, and I have never noticed it before. Has anyone ever run across this missing under heavy load, and what do you think it is?

Old 10-20-2004, 08:39 AM
turbo TED
Senior User
ramtec; Hello & welcome to FTE you should begin by replacing the fuel filter if you have not done so in a long time, this has been known to cause various engine issues.
LIVE LONG AND PROSPER...........TURBO TED

Old 10-24-2004, 01:40 AM
Ramtek
New User
Thanks Turbo Ted, that will be the first thing I replace. Does anyone know where it is at the van?

Old 10-24-2004, 01:45 AM
Ramtek
New User
Angry Ford screwed up on the COPs.

I've read a few other topics around here and it looks like I might need to check the COP. (Coil over plugs) Did Ford think they had a better IDEA by putting these coils over the plugs. It looks like it is a trouble spot now for all Ford owners of gasoline engines. My son's 96 mustang has a regular coil with spark plug wires, and he never has any problem with ignition. My old van had the 351 engine in it with never any spark problem. I think Ford screwed up when they went to these COPs. Does anyone know why they went to this?????

Old 10-27-2004, 04:22 PM
Ramtek
New User
How about a few more responses from experienced people?????

Old 10-27-2004, 09:17 PM