1983 - 2012 Ranger & B-Series All Ford Ranger and Mazda B-Series models

Ranger vibrates at high speeds

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2004, 04:46 PM
nukeengr
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Ranger vibrates at high speeds

I've got a '99 Ranger XLT 3.0L 4x4. I've had the front upper/lower joints replaced, yet the truck continues to vibrate at high speeds. Feels unstable at times. Feels like I'm in a wind tunnel, or driving behind an 18-wheeler on a windy day. Not sure what is causing the truck to vibrate, but am hoping someone else has experienced the same, with a possible solution. The alignment has been done as well.

Could the problem be with the suspension? I don't know.
Would it make any difference if the shocks were replaced? They are good right now, as far as I know.

I'm stumped and have no idea what to look for, or have the service tech look for. I'm a novice with the truck, but am mechanically inclined to find out the problem and possibly fix it myself. Hope someone can help.

Old 06-18-2004, 05:34 PM
G2IC_Wraith
Laughing Gas
Received 21 Likes on 16 Posts
Originally Posted by nukeengr
I've got a '99 Ranger XLT 3.0L 4x4. I've had the front upper/lower joints replaced, yet the truck continues to vibrate at high speeds. Feels unstable at times. Feels like I'm in a wind tunnel, or driving behind an 18-wheeler on a windy day. Not sure what is causing the truck to vibrate, but am hoping someone else has experienced the same, with a possible solution. The alignment has been done as well.

Could the problem be with the suspension? I don't know.
Would it make any difference if the shocks were replaced? They are good right now, as far as I know.

I'm stumped and have no idea what to look for, or have the service tech look for. I'm a novice with the truck, but am mechanically inclined to find out the problem and possibly fix it myself. Hope someone can help.