1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Can't get shift lever back in properly

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2024, 01:30 PM
ShhNotaMechanic
4wd Low
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Can't get shift lever back in properly

Hi guys, first post here, let me know if i am doing anything wrong.

I have an 86 f150, 4x4 with a 302 and a (I think) NP 435 4 speed transmission. I haven't run it in a couple years, but after having lots of wiring issues, we got it started and drove it around town a bit. It shifted bad, even slowly double clutching it, so I decided to do the clutch. This is my first time doing that, and it was difficult but I got it all done (Haynes manual) and I am trying to get the shift lever back in, and it will not seat properly. I can get it inside, and I pushed the spring cap down and twisted and it stayed, but it won't go into gear. To make sure it wasn't aligned, I started the truck and tried shifting, the lever seemed like it went into second gear but it wouldn't engage and I couldn't get it in any other gears including reverse. I pulled it back out and have tried moving it around and getting it positioned different, and that didn't work. Any ideas? Anyone had this issue?

edit- I should explain better- I am not anything resembling a mechanic. I have done little things on all my cars and trucks, but never a job this big on any vehicle. I am really excited to learn more, but you should all know I am very much a novice. Thanks in advance for the help!

Last edited by ShhNotaMechanic; 05-09-2024 at 01:39 PM.
Old 05-09-2024, 01:50 PM
Max Capacity
Cargo Master
Received 563 Likes on 506 Posts
https://www.garysgaragemahal.com/clutches-and-linkage.html

https://www.garysgaragemahal.com/manual-transmission-shift-levers.html

I'm not a manual tranny expert but, those links may help. One of the Dave's or Karl will chime in soon.

Here's for the NP435,
https://www.garysgaragemahal.com/np435.html